Toptube Video Search Engine

Title:“VERTICAL DAYLIGHT” featuring Juha Leiviskä, Laureate of The Daylight Award 2020 for Architecture

The film takes us through Leiviskä’s work and his special way of integrating daylight in buildings that all reflect his dynamic personality. In the documentary, we meet Leiviskä and experience some of his amazing works in Helsinki. Juha Leiviskä is one of the most significant contemporary architects in Finland, and a founding partner of the architectural practice Arkkitehtitoimisto Helander-Leiviskä in Helsinki. In 1992 he was honoured with The Order of the Lion of Finland and in 1994 with the Prince Eugen Medal, a medal conferred by the King of Sweden for outstanding artistic achievement. In his works of architecture, he demonstrates a unique ability to make daylight an integral element of his buildings, in a way that combines emotional stimulus, functionality, and a subtle yet thrilling presence of light as part of the spatial experience. In the current context of environmental values of architecture and the use of natural resources to create natural and sustainable comfort, the work of Leiviskä on daylight is particularly relevant today. ABOUT THE DAYLIGHT AWARD The Daylight Award honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. The award places specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice. The Daylight Award is given every second year biennially in two categories; Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture. Exceptionally in 2020, and to mark the 40th anniversary of the first Daylight Award given to Jørn Utzon, The Daylight Award is given to Henry Plummer for lifetime achievement. The Daylight Award is presented by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, established by Villum Kann Rasmussen. The foundations support a wide range of non-commercial purposes through scientific, social, cultural and environmental projects. Since 1980, they have awarded daylight prizes to, among others, Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980), Henning Larsen (DK) (1987), Bob Gysin (CH) (2007), Richard Perez (USA) (2008), Peter Zumthor (CH) (2010), James Carpenter (USA) (2010), Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011), Gigon & Guyer (CH) (2012) , SANAA (JP) (2014), Steven Holl (US) and Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016) and Hiroshi Sambuichi (JP) and Greg Ward (USA) (2018). More at


Download Server 1


Download Server 2


Alternative Download :